Posted by: simplysheridan | July 27, 2010

Welcome to My World

A few of my friends suggested that I blog, so I’m finally doing it. Those who know me well might expect this to be political or reform oriented, but I’m (almost) over all of that. In the last couple of years, I’ve realized how important it is to focus on what you can control and not stress too much about things that are out of your hands. This doesn’t mean that there aren’t things worth fighting for – especially the environment, just that I’ve spent most of my adult life as a lawyer/advocate and now I want to focus on building things and being a happy person. I think the keys to happiness are balance and simplicity, and probably humor, so that’s what I’m going to write about. I’m also going to try to just relax and express (not easy for someone who tries to use proper grammar even in text messages). I hope this will be fun and maybe even win over some converts to my relatively new philosophy of simplicity. I’m a big fan of both Norman Rockwell and E.B.White and while life was never easy or fair, I think there was a lot of truth in their representations of American life – family, community, country, pride in job well done, and grace under pressure. Both political parties try to claim these things, but it’s not a slogan or an agenda, it’s who we were and who I hope we will be again (except genuinely inclusive in the future).

Leave a Reply

Categories

